Adoption of several legislative texts related to the Cooperation Agreement on the Single Permit

Following the adoption of the Cooperation Agreement on the Single Permit Procedure on 2 February 2018, different legislative texts have been adopted at the federal and regional levels in March 2018 to approve this Cooperation Agreement.

In the framework of the transposition of the Single Permit Directive in Belgian legislation, the different competent Belgian entities (i.e. Federal State, Flemish Region, Walloon Region, Brussels-Capital Region and the German-speaking Community) adopted on 2 February a cooperation agreement on the coordination of the policies on work permits and residence permits and the norms regarding the employment and residence of foreign workers.  

A federal law approving the cooperation agreement was adopted by the federal House of Representatives on 15 March 2018. The Parliaments of the Flemish Region, the Walloon Region and the Brussels-Capital Region have also adopted decrees approving this cooperation agreement in March 2018. A similar decree will also be adopted by the German-speaking Community at the end of April 2018. 

The decree of the Walloon Region was published in the Belgian Official Gazette on 26 March 2018 (see here). The federal law, and the decrees of the Regions will be published shortly.

The cooperation agreement will enter into force once all the above mentioned legislative texts have been published in the Belgian Official Gazette, as well as a Royal Decree modifying the Royal Decree of 8 October 1981.

Date de Publication: lun 26 mar 2018
Thème principal: