Migration Media Award 2018 is accepting applications until 15 May 2018

48 winning journalists will receive EU-funded contracts to produce a story focused on diaspora, labour migration, vulnerable groups or legal and irregular migration to counterbalance the narrative on migration.


The Migration Media Award (MMA) recognizes and rewards the journalistic excellence, relevance and newsworthiness of press pieces dealing with migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region in all its aspects. For its first edition in 2017, the MMA rewarded 35 journalists based in an EU country or a Southern Partner Country (SPC) and had their winning stories published on www.migration-media-award.eu

2018 Migration Media Award

This year’s edition will reward up to 48 published stories resulting from time-intensive, unsensationalistic, in-depth reporting and contributing to balance the narrative on migration, making it, evidence based, nuanced and less polarising. The awards will consist of six categories: Video, radio, online, print, multimedia and photo.

Candidates who wish to apply must submit an already published journalistic work along with a proposal for a second production. If selected, the journalists will receive an EU-funded contract to produce a new original, longer, or more detailed, more researched content covering other aspects of migration or the issue initially dealt with. Interested applicants should check the Eligibility & Application section prior to applying.

More information on this website

Publication Date: Wed 18 Apr 2018
Main theme:
News type: