Ukrainians can now travel for short stays to EU Member States without a visa

As from today Ukrainian citizens holding biometric passports can travel to the Schengen Zone without a visa for a period of 90 days within any 180-day period for purposes other than working.

On 11 May 2017 the European Union and European Council representatives approved the request of Ukraine for visa-free travel. As a consequence, as from today, 11 June 2017, Ukrainian citizens are able to travel to EU Member States without a visa. They are also allowed to visit the four countries which are not part of the Schengen zone such as Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland. However, since the United Kingdom and Ireland have different policies, Ukrainian citizens will have to undergo different procedures in order to qualify for short visits in these countries. Also, any stay for longer than 90 days will require a visa.

The EU lifted visa requirements for Ukrainian citizens sparked joy and expectations of a better future as an aspiring EU country. Thousands of people flocked to Kiev's European square on Saturday for free concerts and an official countdown to midnight.

Publication Date: Sun 11 Jun 2017
Main theme:
News type: